REVIEW: Eurovision in Concert 2012

This year, for the fourth time, Amsterdam was the host city for the biggest pre-Eurovision concert. It has become quite an extraordinary event  with more than half of the contestants coming to showcase their entries. There are only a few weeks before the contest goes to Baku in Azerbaijan. The countdown is on…

This year the event was held on Saturday 21st April 2012 in the Melkweg, a popular venue for bands when playing in Amsterdam. The organisation was much better than last year, which had a series of sound problems which created endless issues for the evening. The Melkweg was fantastic and the evening went without a hitch! Perfect!

The hosts for the evening were Cornald Maas and Ruth Jacott, the Dutch performer in the 1993 Eurovision. She strutted her stuff in Millstreet and belted out Vrede coming a very respectable 6th for The Netherlands.

BEST PERFORMANCE: Spain. Pastora blew away the crowd with her live performance of Quédate Conmigo. What a pair of lungs she has on her! I expect (and hope) Spain to do very well this year in Baku.

MOST ENTERTAINING: Ireland. Jedward really know how to entertain a crowd. I really didn’t like them last year in Düsseldorf, but with Waterline as their comeback I love them.

MOST EMBARASSING WARDROBE MALFUNCTION: France. Poor, poor Anggun wore a lovely red dress, which for those on the first 6 rows of audience (me included), got a perfect view up… I rather feel that someone should have advised her against white pants with a red dress… oh la la…

HOTTEST PERFORMER: Moldova. Hello, Pasha! That’s all I have to say on the matter.

MOST CRINGEWORTHY: San Marino. Deranged doesn’t even begin to describe this. San Marino decided to ‘test’ the rules of Eurovision. A song all about ‘Facebook’ although it’s not allowed to be called that now. I think Facebook should sue!

MY FAVOURITE: Slovenia. Eva’s song is my far my favourite for Baku, although on the night it didn’t come across well. Unfortunately, her backing singers weren’t there and they play a vital role in the performance as one sings the gentle aaaah bits.

THE ONES I MISSED: Sweden and Russia. Oh how I would have loved them to be there. Sweden has the song of the year and a great performance (but will it win?) and Russia have the grannies who I adore.

I predict a close one between Sweden and Russia.

Enjoy my photos from the night.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6 thoughts on “REVIEW: Eurovision in Concert 2012

  1. What was Malta’s song like or did they not sing in this run up? Living in Malta I guess I should know this really.

    • Malta’s Kurt was there. I’m not too keen on his song as I wanted Richard Edwards to win in Malta. Kurt did however please the crowd of eager men…. The song was okay and he really went for it. The song is a little too Rick Astley for me.

      • Thanks for that. I was fairly impressed with Malta’s entry. Yes they are good entertainers too. Over here Eurovision is taken so seriously! The UK’s is a non starter I think.

      • Eurovision is taken very seriously in Malta, but they seem to be missing the concept. They had it perfectly sorted with Chiara the first two times she entertained, but now Malta don’t seem to have followed the trends.

        Do you really not like the UK entry? I think it’s quality – I was surprised when I heard it. Gentle ballad from the UK is quite a shock. It beats sending Scooch or rejects from TV shows. I have my fingers crossed for them to come Top 10.

Leave a Reply

