Will Scotland leave the UK?

Tensions between Scotland and London have been hotting up over recent months. The question about whether Scotland should split from the rest of the United Kingdom is not a new one. It’s also not a question which can go unanswered for much longer.

Personally, I think it’s a good thing that the question of independence be put to the people who will be affected. I would however prefer for Scotland to remain as part of the UK. I don’t see many benefits for an independent Scotland or a smaller UK within Europe with the current economic troubles.

I saw this referendum voting slip. Of course, it’s just for fun, but I do like it.

On a serious note, there have been strong debates over what the question will be. Will it be a simple ‘yes’ or ‘no’ to independence or will there be a compromise; a semi-independence. I hope not. I think it should be ‘in’ or ‘out’. Too much hangs on it.

What will happen to the rest of the United Kingdom without Scotland? Will it still be called the UK? Some say yes, some say it cannot. What will happen to the Union Flag? The blue (from the St Andrew’s flag) will disappear…

Will Scotland enter the Euro? Will Wales and Northern Ireland also seek independence?

Countries dividing is nothing new in Europe. It wasn’t that long since Yugoslavia split into other countries (Croatia, Slovenia, Serbia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, etc) and that Czechoslovakia split into Czech Republic and Slovakia. It just feels weird that this time it could be my own country, the UK, splitting up.

The future of the UK looks set to be interesting over the next couple of years.

What do you think should and could happen?

4 thoughts on “Will Scotland leave the UK?

  1. And another question: without all those Scottish Labour and SNP MPs in Westminster, will anyone other than the Tories ever form a government again?

  2. Having spent most of my life, I find the whole debate really exciting and am a little sad not to be able to take part in the vote because I now live in Germany. I do think it’s fair though, why should I decide if Scotland should be independent or not when I chose not to live there any more?

    I think I would have voted for independence though. 😉

    • I think it’s fair too – I just wish they’d get on with it. I personally am sick of the moaning about ‘England dominance. If they hate it so much then get on with the independence or stop complaining. ‘Put up, or shut up’ is the phrase I always remember.

      We’ll just have to wait and see what happens….

Leave a Reply

