Fireworks for Fawkes

I’ve just got home from a wonderful evening watching fireworks. I love firework displays.

The school that I work for held an annual event to commemorate Guy Fawkes Night. Ah yes – “Remember, remember the 5th of November”.

Okay – some of you are probably wondering why I’ve been watching fireworks tonight – it’s not New Year’s Eve – it’s not Chinese New Year – it’s not my birthday… Well it’s all about something which happened in 1605. The King of England didn’t get blown up – phew – how lucky he was.

The evening tonight didn’t actually mention Guy Fawkes (the guy who was caught as part of the plot to kill King James I of England). That would be too politically ‘provoking‘. However, the fireworks were brilliant – the children and parents were thoroughly entertained – and I had a great time.

History Part – If you actually want to know more about the whole Guy Fawkes story, you can check here.

 

8 thoughts on “Fireworks for Fawkes

  1. Awesome picture of the fireworks, thanks for sharing I love them too. So you work with preschool age kids? It is never boring is it?

    I look forward to reading more of your blogs. I enjoy your wit!

    • Working with children is NEVER dull. Every day is unique and the children are fantastic!! What a job to have. 🙂

      Glad you enjoyed my blog – I hope you come back for more. Let your friends know too. :-)))
      Jamie

  2. Pingback: Remember, the 5th of November…Guy Fawkes night « THE WORD WARRIOR Bonju Blog

    • I love a bit of irony when celebrating history…
      I love things blowing up – as long as I’m far enough away.
      Great night. Now I’ll wait until 31st December for the crazy firework night – in The Netherlands is serious business!

  3. Pingback: „Guy Fawkes“ bedeutet hebräisiert somit „Der Goj: Mund und Beutel“ | The Northern Face

  4. Stunning fireworks. I love fireworks. The best I’ve ever seen were at Edinburgh castle. They even had fireworks pouring down the volcanic rock. It was truly awesome.

Leave a Reply

