eCards. Good or Bad?

Christmas cartoon card

Image via Wikipedia

The decorations are down. The turkey has been eaten (finally). The Christmas card stack is still there, taking up space in my cupboard. What to do with them now?

I suppose I could do one of the following:

  • Make tags for next Christmas;
  • Burn them;
  • Recycle them;
  • Blank out the words and use them as my own cards (I wouldn’t….);
  • Send them back to my friends to re-use (Although it’s likely they would think I am mad) *Note: this one was not a serious suggestion.

In fact, with all these Christmas cards I will be making good use of them when I take them into school. My children will love making their own Christmas cards using the pictures. It does mean storing them somewhere until December and then actually remembering where I put them.

‘Real’ Christmas cards are so nice. I enjoy receiving them as it means that someone somewhere in the world has been thinking about me and cares about keeping in touch. That’s important.

I write my cards each year. I send about 50 cards out. It’s quite a task and quite a cost. But, the cost is worth it – in my opinion. As the years go by I receive more and more eCards in my ‘Inbox’. I am quite divided about my feelings on eCards. There are positives but plenty of negatives. Here’s what I think.

eCards (positives)

  • Environmentally friendly.
  • Cheaper than ‘real’ cards (No cards & no stamps).
  • Faster way of sending friends a message (No writing out all those addresses).

eCards (negatives)

  • They ‘feel’ impersonal (I imagine all ‘contacts’ were downloaded, syncronised and eCards were sent at the push of a button).
  • It just doesn’t seem the same. There are no cards to pop up around the house or to keep for years to come (I do like to keep certain cards).
  • eCards fill up the email Inbox and sometimes it seems that we already spend enough time behind the PC with work (and writing blogs) that the eCard can feel a little like Spam.
  • There are only so many times that you want to see little puppies, kittens and other cute fluffy animals tangling themselves up with Christmas lights in a ten minute animation.

How the times have changed. It does seem to be the case (certainly with my generation: the under 31s) that ‘real’ cards are less important and on the way out. There are less friends that send them on each year. I have even had Facebook greetings this year. I wonder what the future holds for Christmas greetings. Will Facebook have a ‘Festive Poke’ button to send to all contacts?

At the end of the day though it is the thought that counts and keeping in contact is the main thing.

2 thoughts on “eCards. Good or Bad?

  1. I have similar feelings about e-cards. While they are nice, there is just something about finding a greeting filled with love or friendship in the mailbox. Too often, it’s just junk mail and bills in there.

Leave a Reply

