Crazy bus ride

I am surprised that there isn’t a separate ‘bus insurance’ here in The Netherlands. The bus drivers really like speed and I suspect they also secretly like to watch as my fellow passengers and I fall about once they’ve floored it. Everyone who has ever travelled by bus will know that you always feel lucky to get to your seat before the bus lurches away at full speed.

Today I was feeling particularly brave! I caught the bus home and realised that it was pretty full. I was going to have to make it all the way to the back row, while it was moving! I don’t usually sit so far back. I’m a creature of habit and I like my midway seat. Once at the back, I sat, relaxed and suddenly felt transported back to my childhood. I realised that I hadn’t sat on the back row for years. The back row was THE SPOT to sit. It was where all the cool kids sat. On school trips, the back row was also fought over. If you managed to get yourself one of those 5 seats then you knew you were IT.

Next, a funny memory came back to me. It was about 15 years ago. I was about 15 or 16 and I’d gone out with my mum to a village called Guisborough, near the town I used to live in (Redcar). Being a semi-rural area there were lots of small roads, windy roads and steep hills. The journey to Guisborough had been quite calm and relaxing. We wandered, we shopped and generally enjoyed our day out. The journey home was less relaxing…

The bus driver was either:

  1. seriously late
  2. wishing he drove Formula 1
  3. in need of psycological support

We got on the bus and he did the instant ‘foot-to-the-floor’ trick. We managed, with bags and bags of shopping, to struggle our way to the only available seats (at the back). At first the wild journey home seemed quite annoying, but after a while we couldn’t help but laugh. Once we reached the bends in the roads we laughed as we watched everyone grabbing for the rails, holding on for dear-life. Next the bus went up and down the dips… That’s when our bags of shopping tipped over and the fruit escaped! Oranges, a grapefruit and apples went rolling from our bags along the central aisle of the bus. We started laughing even more as we rushed about trying to save the fruit. It’s not easy to do when you’re on a bus lurching from side to side and front to back.

There’s nothing more memorable than a bus ride like that…

I’m glad I sat at the back today. It brought back a great memory of a great day out with my mum. 🙂

Leave a Reply

